Another 1, 5 in paradise! - Reisverslag uit Cairns, Australië van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu Another 1, 5 in paradise! - Reisverslag uit Cairns, Australië van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

Another 1, 5 in paradise!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

09 Mei 2014 | Australië, Cairns

28 april: I arrived at Rockhampton at 12.10 AM, so I took a taxi to the hostel. When I got there, it was kinda strange.. It was very dark and secluded.. Well I had to get my key our of a safe at the reception and when I got to my room, there was only one other girl in there. So luckily I didnt wake anyone up. When I woke up,I walked into town and got some breakfast. After I walked around for a bit, but there is not much in Rockhampton. Its mainly known for steaks and cattle. So I got lunch at a cafe and slowly made my way back. It was about 20-30min walk. The rest of the day I hung out at the hostel, booked my Myella farm stay and went to Subway for dinner.

29 april: I went to the Myella farm stay for the day. It's pretty much as the name says. You get a whole day of farmwork basically. I was in the bus with 2 other girls who were staying the whole 3 days. When we got there, we got a short plan of the day and had breakfast (toast or cereal). After that we had to change (long pants and shirt) and horseback riding!! After an extensive, but good explanation about the how and what with the horses, we got to feed them. After that we lead our horse into the yard to get on them. They had a ramp, so we didnt have to really climb on them. We rode into the paddocks and actually had to herd cattle. It was so much fun! After getting off.. My butt hurt sooo much!! We were in the saddle for about 2-2,5 hours. We got to take the saddle off and wash the horses as well. By the time we were done with all that, it was lunchtime. They had a sort of subway station set up, so you could make your own sandwich. After lunch there was one other activity we could do. Because I was only there for one day I could choose. Motorbikes it was!! Mainly for the people who actually know the show, it's was pretty much exactly like McLeods Daughters!! And the bikes like Nick and Alex's. Before we could go on the bikes, we had to feed the baby kanga called Bendy, collect eggs (no rooster thank goodness) and feed the chickens. So motorbikes, it was the real deal clutch and everything! Because I did disclose my disability (we had to fill in so many forms, everything was sooo dangerous haha) I didnt get the really big bikes, I got a lighter one. Dont know if it was really nessecary, but oh well. It was a lot of fun as well!! Cruising down the driveway and up one of the hills. Before we rode up the hill, the guy doing all this with us, Shane, said I needed to watch my speed. Apparently I was going to fast haha. In all fairness, my bike didnt have a km counter! I was doing 60, when you were only allowed to do 35.. Oops! Back at the farm we milked a cow, such a weird feeling doing that haha. After that it was unfortunately my time to go. Shane drove me back to Rockhampton, 1, 5 hours from the farm! After getting Subway for dinner and watching some shows I went to bed.

30 april-3 mei: I had to checkout today at 10. I woke up around 8 and went to woolworths first for some bread. After breakfast back at the hostel, I checked out. I walked into town and went to McDonalds for some coffee and spend like an hour there reading and talking to Meghan, one of the only people I could talk to at the time haha. After I went to some other thing for lunch and had some good french toast. I sat there for as bit as well reading. After getting to the hostel and reading, doing some finance and planning the next stop of my trip, I walked out again and got some dinner. I had to wait another hour for the shuttle and half an hour at the busstation for the bus. It was an overnighter, so I arrived at Townsville around 8. It stopped at the harbour, so I didnt have to go far with my bags. I got a ticket for the ferry, but walked around townsville first (bags in a locker ofcourse!). There wasnt much so I quickly took the ferry over to Magnetic Island and checked into the hostel. The hostel was very pretty! Located at the beach, big commen area, pool, own restaurant and bar and the rooms were good. I walked around for a bit, grabbed a coffee and just chilled on the beach.
The next day I did a walk up to a beautiful viewing point, 360 view of Magnetic Island called the Forts Walk. It took about 1,5 hours and itmwas hot! So the rest of the day I didnt do much, ust relaxed. In the evening I met some friends and had a drink, it was ladies night after all.
On friday I just relaxed, went to the beach, had some food, read and in the evening it was 'frat night'. Each night they organize something and this was a games night. I met some new interesting people. It was a fun night!! On Saturday I had to kinda recover, so a chill day was in order. I met a friend in the afternoon and we went snorkeling. Unfortunately it was kinda disappointing, but fun nonetheless. At night we played some cardgames, had a drink and a good night ;).

4-10 mei: It was already time to go!! I got the bus to the ferry around 10 and caught my greyhound to Cairns around 12. It took about 6 hours. Before I got on the bus, I met a German girl (Lena) who was going to Cairns as well. Most people stopped at Mission beach first. So when I walked into a crowded bus I had two options: sit next to a stranger or a stranger I met 2 min ago. She got to sit nect to me for the next 5 hours!! She was bery happy about it haha. She's also sarcastic so you can fill in how that went. Thenlast hour we could sit by ourselves. In Cairns we had to walk about 10 min to the hostel, Lena was in the same one. Check-in took a long time!! But when we finally were done, we went for some food.

New week! I hadnt booked anything for Cairnd yet, so I went to the travelagency at the hostel. I booked the same snorkel/dive tour as Lena for wednesday and concidered the other options. In the afternoon I walked around with Lena, windowshopping mostly. For dinner it was noodles and we just hung out.

Tuesday was laundry day! I did that and met up with Lena and another girl I met a few times along the way, Georgina. Again walked around for a bit, had some food, a nap and for dinner we went to the gilligans bar. You couldmget a free meal with any drink. So I bought a $3 drink and got some food. We all had activities the next day so we went to bed early.

SNORKEL/DIVETOUR!!!! We were soo excited. We had to be at the reef terminal at 7.30. Our boat was called 'Passions of Paradise' and it didnt disappoint. We had to sail for about 1 hour to get to the first spot. In the meantime there was tea, coffee and muffins and a talk about safety and how to dive and snorkel. Both Lena and I had one introductury dive so we were both very excited. We had to fill in a medical form and I thought let'sbe honest. When they saw the form , they told , e I had to be cleared by a doctor. My mind went oh crap! Before the first snorkel one of the crew told me the dick..uhm doc didnt clear me for diving. I was really disappointed and kinda mad! My HMSN wouldnt intervene with breathing of my heart or lungs and those are usually the things they decline people for. Well there was nothing I could do about it anymore and luckily I did get my money back. After the first snorkel we had lunch. The lunch was sooooo good! Salads, bread, meat, rice, a chicken thing, fruit.. Booh so good! After lunch we sailed to the second spot, which is owned by the company so only they are allowed to go there. It was beautiful! You could see the reef go into the deep and a lot of fishes!! After the second snorkel, we set sail for Cairns. Our day at the Great Barrier Reef was over. It was then that we felt that we were sooo tired. After docking we went to get some food and around 8 we went to bed exhausted.

On Thursday I had another awesome, spectacular, oh-my-god-are-you-doing-that-thing planned. I was going... SKYDIVING! I was soooo nervous for it. They picked me up at 11, we had to drive for about an hour and then I was prepped at 2. It was a long wait, which didnt help my nerves haha. The instructor I got was really nice. I went into the plane last and when we were going up I realized.. I WAS FIRST! I paid for a video so along the way zi was filmed and you can see how nervous I was! Before I knew it I was falling from 14000 feet (4267 meter) and it was AWESOME! 2 sec were super scary and then I enjoyed it soo much. After the jump, I was in the last group, we went directly into the bus and on our way back to Cairns. I was meeting a friend I met in Surfers Paradise, she had done a skydive as well and it was fun to talk about it with her. I went to dinner immediately after, cause i had only eaten 2 slices of bread. I went with Emily and Lena for some asian food (like ricebox Dad) and we met up again around 8 to go out. It was a good and fun night!! I had to say goodbye to Georgina that night, cause she was flying back to Sydney :(.

Today is a relax day as well. Just chilling. I'm meeting Emily and Lena for lunch and the rest I dont know yet. Tomorrow I fly to Alice Springs, Central Australia, to do a 3 day tour.

Well another longgggg story but I know you enjoyed it! Thanks for all the responses and till the next one!
Ps: I made pics with my camera or phone, so cant load any on the blog.. Sorry! You'll have to wait till I'm home muwhahaha

  • 09 Mei 2014 - 09:34

    Felicia:

    Hee Lotskie!

    Wauw wat doe je gave dingen daar in Australie! Heel erg leuk om te lezen :) Ik ben benieuwd naar de foto's en vooral naar het filmpje van het skydiven hihi! Geniet nog van de tijd in Australie!

    Veel liefs XX

  • 09 Mei 2014 - 09:41

    Leo:

    Hoi moppie,

    Super ervaringen wederom. Naast volleerd kok kun je dus ook een boerderij beginnen. Het melken en paardrijden beheers je al.
    Ricebox; superb.
    Vooral doorgaan met genieten en nieuwe ervaringen opdoen.

  • 09 Mei 2014 - 11:23

    Liane:

    Hoi mop,
    De time of your life, zo te lezen!
    En dan ook nog de Mc. Clouds daughters ervaring ( volgens mij waren zij ook de aanleiding om naar Australië te gaan), de outback en alles wat daarbij hoort! En daar hoort ook een zeer achterwerk bij :)!
    En uit een vliegtuig springen!!! Ik zou het niet durven ;)!
    We zijn natuurlijk wel benieuwd naar de video en foto's, dat snap je wel.
    Fijn dat je geregeld leuke mensen tegen komt.
    Geniet nog verder!!!
    Liefs en xoxoxo, mama

  • 09 Mei 2014 - 19:56

    Marieke:

    Skydiven...gaaf!!!
    Veel plezier in Alice Springs!


  • 09 Mei 2014 - 20:05

    Riet:

    Hoi Lotte,
    Je maakt heel veel avonturen mee en knap dat jij deze allemaal aangaat. Geniet, ik heb vandaag in Turkije een modderbad ondergaan, niet zo spectaculair als jouw skydiving maar toch.
    Liefs, Rob en Riet

  • 10 Mei 2014 - 11:26

    Elly Blom:

    wat ben je toch een waaghals dat je dat allemaal zomaar durft. Petje af. Leuk om weer op de hoogte te zijn van je ervaringen. Ben benieuwd hoe hard je gegild hebt en welke bekjes je getrokken hebt bij het skydiven.
    Gr van ons allen

  • 10 Mei 2014 - 14:26

    Henriëtte:

    Wat kan ik nog aanvullen bij al die dingen die al door andere mensen gezegd zijn.
    Erg gaaf wat je allemaal doet. Deze ervaringen neemt niemand je meer af.
    Ben erg benieuwd naar foto's en filmpjes.
    Geniet nog maar en ik lees de volgende verhalen wel weer. Heel veel groetjes van ons allemaal,
    de Muldrianen!!!

  • 11 Mei 2014 - 12:39

    Danielle:

    Ha Lotte,

    Die zere kont heb ik ook al vaak gehad, en nog wel meer dan dat wanneer ik gelanceerd werd.
    Wat een belevenissen al weer.
    Ik geloof niet dat ik het allemaal zou durven.
    Veel plezier nog.

    Groetjes Danielle

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Hallootjes! Mijn tweede waarbenjij.nu. Mijn tweede avontuur. Dit keer gaat de reis naar Australie voor 6 maanden. Ik ga 4 maanden werken als au-pair bij een Nederlands gezin. Dit wordt gevolgd door 2 maanden backpacken door het geweldige land. Ik ga jullie weer zo goed mogelijk op de hoogte houden middels deze blog. Ik hoop dat jullie weer net zo enthousiast zijn als de vorige keer en lekker veel reacties achterlaten! Liefs Lotte

Actief sinds 28 Okt. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 475
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9686

Voorgaande reizen:

25 November 2013 - 02 Juni 2014

Second Adventure!!

Landen bezocht: