First part of being on my own - Reisverslag uit Agnes Water, Australië van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu First part of being on my own - Reisverslag uit Agnes Water, Australië van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

First part of being on my own

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

27 April 2014 | Australië, Agnes Water

16 april: another Doomsday! After having breakfast at Gloria Jean's we drove to the hostel, so I could check in and drop my bags. The hostel was NOT what I was used to. It looked deserted from the outside and the inside was no better. Luckily I only had to stay there for 1 night. After a sad goodbye to my parents and Rik, I went back to the hostel and looked up stuff for my trip. Around 3 I met a girl from my Perth tour and went to Starbucks. It was a lot of fun catching up. around 5 we went back to the hostel and a little later we went to the supermarket for some food. Nothing special otherwise.

17 april: early start! Checked out at 6 and walked to the busstation. I had to catch the bus at 6.40. Around 7.15 (supposed to be 7) the bus left and onward with my 16 hour trip to Surfers Paradise. We made two stops, one around 10 and the other around 6. At 11PM I finally arrived in Surfers. When I asked for directions, the guy said he was waiting for his ride and they could give me a ride. Hmm.. Walking for at least a kilometre or be driven there?! Uh THANKS! So they dropped me off at the hostel, I had to wake someone up for check-in and prob woke everyone in the room up getting into my topbunk.

18 april: It was Good Friday so a lot of shops were closed. First stop was Starbucks for breakfast. After I read for a whike, looking at peoplr a d walked around town. Its not that pretty, mostly highrisers and a short beach. Kinda a let down for a first stop. Because of Easter and a jazz festival everything in Byron bay (initial first stop) was booked and because the greyhound ticket doesnt allow for backtrack I had to skip it. In the afternoon I booked a tour with a boat/bus around Surfers. It was fun and it passed the time.

19 april: Checkoutday! I took the courtesy shuttle to town with an English girl I met yesterday. We both had a coupon for a free tall beverage at Starbucks so thats were we went. It was fun and nice to have someone to talk to. Around 1 I had my Greyhound bus to Brisbane, arriving there around 3.30. First I walked to the wrong hostel, same chain, and after I arranged everything for Fraser Island first and went into the center after. I ended the day at the movies, watching the amazing spiderman 2. It was awesome!!

20 april: Had breakfast next to the hostel for $4!! A nice piece of toast with egg and bacon. After that I took the bus to Mt Coo-tha lookout. It was pretty to see, but nothing special. After I went to the botanical gardens, but because of easter holiday it wasnt really relaxing. Rest of the day nothing special and went to the movies again at night! Divergent this time.

21 april: Travelday! Had a greyhound WITH WIFI AND USB CHARGERS for 5 hours to Hervey Bay. At Hervey Bay I had a shuttle that took me to the hostel, so that was really nice. So was the hostel! Had a good night there.

22 + 23 april: Fraser Island!! I met another girl who was going on the same tour as I was, so I had someone to talk to. We got picked up at 7.30, had to take a ferry to the island and met our actual group (there were people on the shuttle and bus that weren't on our tour) around 9. First we went to Mackenzie Lake, which was gorgeous! We had a quick swim there and had some lunch. After that we went to Central station (heart of Fraser back in the day). Before and after this wenwent for a walk. The first one hated me and made me trip twice and the secone made me think of the grand canyon. If I tripped there, I would have had a long, hurtful way down (lots of trees). Another lake was visited (still pretty, not swimmable) and Wanggoolba Creek. We stayed at a lodge, which was really good. I had a room to myself mwuhahah, cause I was put with all the guys and that was not happening.
The next day we had a buffet for breakfast, so we stuffed our faces before we left. First stop were the champagne pools, sounds amazing right?! So full of people and there were sharp rocks everywhere, so I didn't go in. After lunch we went to Colored Sands, Maheno wreck and Indian Head. Indian Head gave you a great view, but was a .. to climb up. I did it anyway and decided to go down early so they didnt have to wait for me. But I took a wrong turn and ended up the last one down. Urgh so stupid, as Rik would say 'thats so Lottie' and this timeI have to say it was. Our last stop was Eli Creek. You could kinda swim in that, so I did and it was really refreshing. That night at 8 some of us had to go on the ferry home and the tour was already over. It was a load of fun, I met some great people and as always it was too short.

24 april: this day was filled with relaxing, doing laundry, figuring out where to go next, walking around hervey bay and talking to some people I met there. It was quite a fun day!

25 april: this was a day of waiting. I had a whole room to myself. There were no new people, so when I got up I turned on some music and packed my bag. I went to the kitchen for some breakfast and met the Dutch girl from the tour. After checkout I stayed in the common area and talked to some people. Around 12.40 I took the shuttle to the busstation with two others and we sat at McDonalds until the bus came at 2.25. It took about 3,5 hours to get to Agnes Water. There we had a shuttle for our bags and we walked to the hostel. It was like 2 minutes and in the meantime we got a tour of the town. Now you also know how small it is. In the hostel they have dinner for $6 every night, so I did that. Talked with some people, had some beers and went to bed.

26 april: Started the day with some gooood coffee, no starbucks but I'll manage. The rest of the morning I sat in the common area, reading, using wifi and stuff. Around 12 went into town for some lunch with a guy I met in Herbey Bay and in the afternoon we went on a scooteroo tour. It was sooo much fun! I'll post some pics asap. You drove around town, stopped at the waterside for the sunset and went back. Definately worth the money! At dinner I was talking to some guy and after like 5 min the question 'where are you from?' came and.. Yup! Netherlands!! Sooo funny! That has happened to me twice now, most have no hearable European or Dutch accent, makes me proud haha.

27 april: Nothing really special today. I hung around the hostel for pretty much the wholeday, waiting for the greyhound at 9PM to Rockhampton.

  • 27 April 2014 - 11:17

    Riet Duykers:

    Ha die Lotte,
    Bacvkpack is de enige manier om dat te doen waar JIJ zin in hebt. Je hebt met niemand rekening te houden behalve jezelf. Je weet niet wie je allemaal ontmoet en zo te zien heb je leuke ontmoetingen.
    Dat lukt jou prima!
    Rob en ik gaan donderdag voor 10 dagen naar Turkije, tegenovergestelde van jou: relaxing en all inclusive in 5* resource. Maar ja, we zijn al wat ouder, he? HAHAHA
    Nog heel veel plezier en avonturen.
    Liefs,
    Rob en Riet

  • 27 April 2014 - 12:21

    Liane:

    Hoi mop,
    Weer leuk om te lezen allemaal! Ook leuk dat je geregeld mensen ontmoet om iets mee doen.en ja, als je zoveel moois ziet dan kom je dingen tegen die minder zijn.
    Wat de verkeerde weg kiezen betreft, Rik heeft gelijk! Naast een heleboel goede kanten, is dat een mindere ;)!
    Geniet nog verder, doen de mensen het hier ook! Het is nl. Meivakantie :).
    Helaas niet voor pap en Rik ;)!
    Liefs en xoxoxo, mama

  • 28 April 2014 - 09:03

    Henriëtte :

    Zo te lezen kom jij de dagen wel door. En natuurlijk zijn er super dingen en minder leuke dingen. Geniet maar en veel plezier bij alles wat je nog gaat zien en doen.
    Liefs de Muldrianen xxx

  • 01 Mei 2014 - 10:26

    Marie-José:

    Ha Lotte,

    Dit keer had ik weer geen melding dat je wat op je blog geschreven had ,vandaar een latere reactie.
    Genoeg te zien en te doen zo te lezen en steeds weer nieuwe mensen die je ontmoet.
    Dat moeten t toch allemaal een geweldige ervaringen zijn.
    Geniet van deze prachtige tijd. Veel plezier

    Liefs
    Marie-José

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Hallootjes! Mijn tweede waarbenjij.nu. Mijn tweede avontuur. Dit keer gaat de reis naar Australie voor 6 maanden. Ik ga 4 maanden werken als au-pair bij een Nederlands gezin. Dit wordt gevolgd door 2 maanden backpacken door het geweldige land. Ik ga jullie weer zo goed mogelijk op de hoogte houden middels deze blog. Ik hoop dat jullie weer net zo enthousiast zijn als de vorige keer en lekker veel reacties achterlaten! Liefs Lotte

Actief sinds 28 Okt. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 337
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9688

Voorgaande reizen:

25 November 2013 - 02 Juni 2014

Second Adventure!!

Landen bezocht: