First week in Australia - Reisverslag uit Barham, Australië van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu First week in Australia - Reisverslag uit Barham, Australië van Lotte Hellewig - WaarBenJij.nu

First week in Australia

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lotte

08 December 2013 | Australië, Barham

Quick introductions:
Christel and Jolmer: mom and dad (obviously)
Laura: 9 years old
Jaap: 8 years old
Peter: 6 years old
Tim: 4 years old
Hugo: 2 (almost 3) years old

Monday the 2nd of December my first work week started. The day started at 7.15 getting up and being at the house at 8 am. I pretty much shadowed the other nanny, who had her last full day. Throughout the day I discovered that we have a lot in common. We both studied at the PABO, we both went to the States for a semester and we shared opinions about the field we wanna work in. She actually went to the university that was my second choice in South Carolina. It made me a little sad that we wouldn't be able to work and spend more time together. In the evening we talked with Christel and Jolmer some more before heading for the cabin.

Tuesday was a weird day. It was Maartje's last morning/day. We spend the morning doing the usual; doing some laundry, preparations for dinner and keeping an eye on Hugo (the youngest). After we picked up Tim from pre-school, we headed to Kerang. Here Maartje would catch her train, which is 20 minutes from Barham. We had lunch in a play ground there and at 1.30 PM we waved good bye to Maartje. It was weird saying good bye to her, because we clicked and even though it was only 2 days we had fun. The kids were kinda normal, no crying or anything. During the rest of the day I of course noticed they were sad and confused.

Wednesday is usually my day off, but due to appointments that Christel and Jolmer had I had to work. I wasn't feeling that well, I think due to the change in scenery, weather and just overall the change. It turned out to be a good day, because they celebrated 'pakjesmiddag' that afternoon. Sinterklaas even thought of me in Australia, which was really sweet. I got a beach towel with the flag of Australia, a little note pad, shower gel and (very handy) some cook books. Christel and Jolmer had a Christmas thing at 7, so I stayed at the house and put the kids to bed. It was a little challenging putting them to bed, because they weren't used to me yet (of course) and I didn't know their routine yet. Either way they were asleep when their parents got home. The evening gave me a chance to put the previous blog online, because the internet is better at the house. Around 10 I went back to the cabin and after a quick shower I went to bed.

Thursday I still wasn't feeling that well, so talking to my friends and my mom really helped. What else is mention-worthy of that day? Christel and Laura were packing, because they were gonna visit Christel's sister in New York! I was jealous!! But it faded quickly, because I'm in Australia so can't really complain! Normally on Thursday and Friday Jolmer works in Bendigo and stays the night, because it takes about 1,5-2 hours to get back to Barham. But he did do it this time, so I didn't have to sleep at the house. He was back around 8PM.

This did mean that he had to leave at 6 AM on Friday morning, so it was an early morning for me. Tim was already awake, so I couldn't doze off on the couch. I made quiche for dinner for the first time. It turned out pretty good, because the eldest boys wanted seconds. I say APPROVED! I saved the recipe, so I can make it again. Around 8 PM Jolmer was back from work and I got a tour of the garden. And it's so big that is really necessary. Thank god I didn't have to remember it all! After the tour I went back to the cabin, watched some shows and went to bed.

The first weekend was here! On Saturday I had to work, because Jolmer had to do rounds at the hospital. So I was there at 8 and could go around 9.30. I decided to go to Kerang, because there is a big supermarket there. It takes about 20 min. to get there, so that's not bad. I went to the bakery here in Barham, because they have goooood stuff. I ate it at the cabin and watched a show. Other than that I cleaned up a little bit in the cabin, took a shower and watched some shows. On Sunday I wanted to go to the Internet cafe and I checked on Saturday what time it opens. I went there at 12 and talked to mom on SKYPE! YES SKYPE! Although the microphone didn't work and at the end neither did the camera, it was nice! Also uploaded some pics to the blog. After that I went back to the cabin and.. yes.. watched some shows. Guilty pleasure GEORDIE SHORE! It's kinda awesome because they are in Australia haha! Around 5.30 I went to the house for dinner, because Jolmer invited me. I'm always able to eat there, so the pizza I got is going to get eaten another day.

  • 09 December 2013 - 12:45

    Liane:

    Hoi mop,
    Zo je eerste week zit erop! Met veel nieuwe indrukken ritmes etc.Het was fijn om met je te kletsen via skype! Veel plezier en succes verder en hopelijk een leuke aanloop naar een warm Kerstmis :)!
    Xoxoxo, mama

  • 09 December 2013 - 15:09

    Marie-José:

    Ha Lotte,

    Nou in zo'n grote caravan krijg je toch een vakantiegevoel!!!!!Toch?
    Ziet er leuk uit binnen en het is een eigen plekje voor je.
    Ik kan me voorstellen dat je af en toe even rust wil hebben als je de hele dag in de weer bent met de kinderen.
    Jammer dat die Maartje weg moest als het zo leuk klikte met jullie.
    Maar al weer de eerste week om ,wat gaat het snel.
    Als je je ritme helemaal gevonden hebt, wordt het nog leuker. En wat lief die attenties voor de Sint.
    Geniet van alle ervaringen
    Liefs "
    Marie-José

  • 09 December 2013 - 18:30

    Marieke:

    Leuk om wat foto's te zien.
    Je cabin ziet er knus uit.
    Veel plezier nog!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lotte

Hallootjes! Mijn tweede waarbenjij.nu. Mijn tweede avontuur. Dit keer gaat de reis naar Australie voor 6 maanden. Ik ga 4 maanden werken als au-pair bij een Nederlands gezin. Dit wordt gevolgd door 2 maanden backpacken door het geweldige land. Ik ga jullie weer zo goed mogelijk op de hoogte houden middels deze blog. Ik hoop dat jullie weer net zo enthousiast zijn als de vorige keer en lekker veel reacties achterlaten! Liefs Lotte

Actief sinds 28 Okt. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 397
Totaal aantal bezoekers 9681

Voorgaande reizen:

25 November 2013 - 02 Juni 2014

Second Adventure!!

Landen bezocht: